Umbrella insurance with negative net worth

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
balderdash1

Umbrella insurance with negative net worth

Post by balderdash1 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:28 pm

Question that I can't seem to get a good handle on and any input would be greatly appreciated. A disability insurance salesman told me that I need to get umbrella insurance. He doesn't sell it and he didn't recommend any specific person so I don't think there is any conflict of interest. I am currently a medical resident with 45k in assets (mainly Roth and 403b) and 150k in debt. I have car insurance with 50k in liability. Should I go out and get a million dollar policy? They are relatively cheap but could someone go after me despite a negative net worth? Would they garnish future earnings? Thanks for any help.

Grt2bOutdoors

Re: Umbrella insurance with negative net worth

Post by Grt2bOutdoors » Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:38 pm

That was excellent advice from the insurance fellow. It's not just assets they can go after, they can garnish your future wages. Being that you are a medical doctor, that means :moneybag :dollar :moneybag to the plaintiffs. Buying an umbrella policy would be cheap insurance in the event you are sued. Try Geico, they seem to have good rates.
"One should invest based on their need, ability and willingness to take risk - Larry Swedroe" Asking Portfolio Questions

DrPeppaPig

Post by DrPeppaPig » Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:10 pm

I bought a policy when I was in a similar position as you and recommend it. You'll likely have to increase your auto liability though.

lwfitzge

Post by lwfitzge » Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:15 pm

DrPeppaPig wrote:I'd definitely do it. A $1MM umbrella shouldn't cost more than $150-$250. You'll likely have to increase your auto liability though.