Getting mortgage in 6 mths. Should I get a new credit card?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
tomtoms

Getting mortgage in 6 mths. Should I get a new credit card?

Post by tomtoms »

I am planning to obtain a $500,000 mortgage in the next 6 months and to put 20% down. I recently checked my credit score from Equifax and it is 731. Apparently, I need a > 760 score to get the best rate. I have been using just one credit card for the last 13 years. My monthly credit card bill is usually < $100 so my credit limit is just $4000. According to Equifax, the key factors that are affecting my score:

(1) The credit line on revolving accounts
(2) There is insufficient information, or no account history, for mortgage accounts
(3) The percentage of department store accounts or charge cards to all of the accounts in your credit file
(4) The credit line on credit card acconts

My credit score has been the same for the last year. Within the last year, several of my student loan accounts and auto loan account have been closed since they have been paid in full. I still have four student loan accounts opened with less than $25,000 combined. The interest rate is < 1% so I am not planning to pay them off right now.

Would obtaining a new credit card help to increase my score? By doing so, I am concerned it would decrease my credit score in the short term. I have also asked my credit card company to increase my credit limit but they would first need to do a credit check and that may also affect my credit score in the short term.

What do you think I should do? Please advise!
Last edited by tomtoms on Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:50 pm, edited 3 times in total.
trudy

Re: Getting mortgage in 6 mths. Should I get a new credit ca

Post by trudy »

Since no one else has answered, I looked on the Equifax site.

This page gives some hints: