9mm pistol for lefty at a shooting range?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
topper1296

9mm pistol for lefty at a shooting range?

Post by topper1296 » Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:17 am

I went to a shooting range for the first time last week with some friends and it was really fun. I have never done anything like that before, but I would like to go back maybe once or twice a month to do it again. I shot a 9mm and I am considering getting my own so I don't have to rent one at the range. Anybody on here have any recommendations for a lefty (good location of safety, clip release, slide release, not having hot shells fall on my right arm)? I shot semi-autos, but I wouldn't be opposed to a revolver (but still need to try one of those). If it helps any, I shot a Ruger, Glock, Sig, and Beretta and they all had 9mm rounds. I don't have enough experience or didn't fire enough rounds to develop a strong preference for any one of them and I'm sure there are others brands out there as well I didn't get to try. I would like to place an emphasis on being low maintenance and reliability (I've read that Glock is good for this).

Adrian Nenu

Post by Adrian Nenu » Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:36 am

Over 60% of US law enforcement agencies use some type of Glock model. There are many good reasons for this. My agency uses the Glock model 21, 30 and 36. I own Glock models 19 and 36 for personal social use. My recommendation is to handle each Glock model at a gun show and see which best fits your hands and needs. I prefer the Glocks chambered for the .45 ACP.

Adrian
anenu@tampabay.rr.com

SteveB3005

Post by SteveB3005 » Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:56 am

I agree with Adrian. In those special "social use" occasions, it's better to be a little overdressed than underdressed, go with a .45 in black.

norookie

Post by norookie » Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:11 am