Tech help please!

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
mbres60

Tech help please!

Post by mbres60 »

I received an email from Microsoft saying I have to update my sign in technology before Sept 16 or I won't be able to sign in anymore. I don't know what they are talking about! :(. I am not a techie.

I have used Hotmail for a long time. I am pretty sure I use it directly from their website and not an app. About 15 years ago I tried to set up the mail program on my computer but didn't realize it downloaded from the internet to my computer all my emails. I changed it back very quickly but do seem to have a folder in hotmail that says POP . It has some old emails I saved. My cell phone says Outlook and not the mail envelope picture. In settings it says default Mail app: Outlook. On my laptop I don't use the mail app but login to login.live.com . I wasn't aware that a laptop could use apps but their email says I can download free versions of Outlook to connect to my email. I am totally lost on what I need to do!

Here is a pasted copy: The safety and security of your information is top priority for Microsoft. To help keep your account secure, Microsoft will no longer support the use of third-party email and calendar apps which ask you to sign in with only your Microsoft Account username and password. To keep you safe you will need to use a mail or calendar app which supports Microsoft’s modern authentication methods. If you do not act, your third-party email apps will no longer be able to access your Outlook.com, Hotmail or Live.com email address on September 16th.

What do you need to do?