International travel and customs

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
tc101

International travel and customs

Post by tc101 »

I just returned from my first trip out of the country in many years. One of the things that surprised me is that there was no customs inspection. No one asked me if I had anything to declare. No one looked in my bags. Why is that? Someone told me they now have dogs that sniff the luggage for drugs, explosives or cash. Is that true? How does customs work now?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
ResearchMed

Re: International travel and customs

Post by ResearchMed »

tc101 wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 8:56 am I just returned from my first trip out of the country in many years. One of the things that surprised me is that there was no customs inspection. No one asked me if I had anything to declare. No one looked in my bags. Why is that? Someone told me they now have dogs that sniff the luggage for drugs, explosives or cash. Is that true? How does customs work now?

Assuming you flew... the airport international arrivals area should have had two exits (could be more like hallways; don't need to be open and close "doors") marked
"Nothing to Declare"
and
[something to declare; not sure what it actually says]

The "nothing" usually has a green ("GO") marker.
The "something to declare" usually has a red ["STOP"] marker.

They can obviously stop someone who looks "suspicious" or just randomly/arbitrarily at the "Nothing to Declare" exit and ask questions or inspect.
This is more for Customs and taxes; I doubt they expect anyone to "declare" that they had drugs or explosives! Yes, there can be dogs sniffing around, including in the baggage area, before you'd get to these exits.

RM
This signature is a placebo. You are in the control group.
jebmke

Post by jebmke »