Value of living away for college

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
the_wiki

Value of living away for college

Post by the_wiki »

Can anyone comment on the value of living away for school? My daughter is finalizing decision on two schools. One she could drive to daily and the other is in a college town that would require housing. The cost difference between the two is basically just the housing. She prefers the away school for familiarity with the facilities and faculty (she did summer programs there). Although the local school is a little higher ranked nationally. (Neither are ivy leagues or anything, so not sure that matters).

I was just a commuter to a local state U, so I have no experience with living away for school. Did anyone find that to be well worth the difference in cost for yourself or your children? It is very tempting to tell her to just stay home and I can save thousands a semester. Truth be told, I can afford either option, but obviously prefer spending less like anyone else.

Thanks for your input.
ScubaHogg

Re: Value of living away for college

Post by ScubaHogg »

I mean, compared to living at home living on campus is a ton more fun and probably a much easier way to make friends
“Conventional Treasury rates are risk free only in the sense that they guarantee nominal principal. But their real rate of return is uncertain until after the fact.” -Risk Less and Prosper
fulltilt

Post by fulltilt »