Is uninsured motor vehicle insurance a good idea?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
tc101

Is uninsured motor vehicle insurance a good idea?

Post by tc101 »

Is uninsured motor vehicle insurance a good idea? I
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
bh1

Re: Is uninsured motor vehicle insurance a good idea?

Post by bh1 »

If you are hit and run by a 4-ton truck, you won't have an issue with paying for the associated medical costs of you and your passengers?
Silk McCue

Post by Silk McCue »

I think uninsured/underinsured coverage is crucial given the number of folks on the road that fit that category.

Accident lawyers certainly recommend it to protect yourself. They know very well that they can’t help you very much when you are hit by and badly hurt by an uninsured/uninsured driver.

Cheers
SavinMaven

Post by SavinMaven »

9 months ago I was rear-ended by an uninsured motorist. It caused $11k in damage to my car. Thankfully no medical expenses for me or the passenger. But yes, I'm going to have to say it was a good idea. I could have sued the uninsured driver, but I bet if I had, we'd still be in court, and I wouldn't have a penny from him yet, if ever. Having uninsured motorist coverage, my car's been fully fixed for 7 months.
nedsaid

Post by nedsaid »

SavinMaven wrote: Mon Jun 26, 2023 4:57 pm 9 months ago I was rear-ended by an uninsured motorist. It caused $11k in damage to my car. Thankfully no medical expenses for me or the passenger. But yes, I'm going to have to say it was a good idea. I could have sued the uninsured driver, but I bet if I had, we'd still be in court, and I wouldn't have a penny from him yet, if ever. Having uninsured motorist coverage, my car's been fully fixed for 7 months.