Lyft vs Uber

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
tc101

Lyft vs Uber

Post by tc101 »

I have not used either one in several years. Is there any difference? Is one better than the other? Which do you use?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
Bh1984

Re: Lyft vs Uber

Post by Bh1984 »

Both. I always check both as availability and pricing can be cheaper with one vs the other.
AnnetteLouisan

Post by AnnetteLouisan »

I signed up for Lyft two weeks ago for some time sensitive trips. You don’t need to have the app, they communicate with you by email and text. They ask you to send them a picture so the driver can identify you. I don’t know if that is required but I didn’t do that.

I booked two rides with Lyft a few days in advance. One was accepted. The other they said they would send me a reminder when to book it. The first trip time arrived without a reminder from them so I made other arrangements. A few hours after my trip time I received a reminder from Lyft.

The second trip time arrived and they canceled on me five minutes before saying they “encountered a payment issue.” For what it’s worth, which may be nothing.

Now I use a private car service where it’s the same four vetted drivers rather than a different person each time, they know my driving route preferences and I just have to call them (like, on the telephone…) when I need a ride. I haven’t tried Uber yet.
Last edited by AnnetteLouisan on Sun Sep 18, 2022 9:29 am, edited 2 times in total.
runner3081

Post by runner3081 »

Anymore, I have found the quantity of available drivers is significantly less. I need to use both apps just to find the closer and cheaper driver.
curmudgeon

Post by curmudgeon »