Tramontina vs Carote nonstick pan

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
huzaing

Tramontina vs Carote nonstick pan

Post by huzaing »

Hi,

On some previous threads, Bogleheads have recommended the Tramontina nonstick pan (also rated #1 by wirecutter).
On Amazon, Carote pan with granite nonstick coating looks popular as well:
https://www.amazon.com/Carote-Stone-Derived-Non-Stick-Switzerland-Including/dp/B0732NXYNS

1. Can folks comment on the Carote pan and how it compares to Tramontina?

2. Also I read that Member's Mark pan at Sam's club is same as Tramontina?

Thanks!
shunkman

Re: Tramontina vs Carote nonstick pan

Post by shunkman »

Cooks Illustrated recommends the OXO non-stick pans and we are very satisfied with ours. And CI is not a fan of ceramic coated pans because they typically wear out faster than traditional non-stick pans. Sorry, I have no experience with the pans that you are asking about.
protagonist

Post by protagonist »

I can't compare, since we only have Tramontina, but we are very satisfied with them, and the price is right.
DavidW

Post by DavidW »

Here is something to check out. They cover non-stick, carbon steel and cast iron.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TH0kEjezXs

I prefer the last two as they do a good job cooking. Non stick requires care and not over heating (create toxic fumes).
Topic Author
huzaing

Post by huzaing »

protagonist wrote: Sun Sep 19, 2021 7:55 pm I can't compare, since we only have Tramontina, but we are very satisfied with them, and the price is right.
Yep, the price is really good for what looks like a solid option
rjbraun

Post by rjbraun »

huzaing wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 4:13 pm
protagonist wrote: Sun Sep 19, 2021 7:55 pm I can't compare, since we only have Tramontina, but we are very satisfied with them, and the price is right.
Yep, the price is really good for what looks like a solid option