Allstate Dwelling Protection - Grossly Underestimated

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
TiredLawyer

Allstate Dwelling Protection - Grossly Underestimated

Post by TiredLawyer »

Has anyone with Allstate checked their home dwelling protection limits recently? I think Allstate’s computerized estimator is wrong. In my case, I have reviewed Allstate’s estimator across 2 homes and they seem to estimate replacement cost at about $125 / square foot. Anyone who has done a new build or major renovation lately knows that this is way low.

Anyone have suggestions on how to fix this? I am considering asking Allstate to add a rider that would value my replacement cost closer to $200-$250/ square foot. I am dumbfounded that I have to do this manually and frankly I am no expert at keeping up with build costs over time either. I wonder how many other people may be unwittingly underinsured.
galawdawg

Re: Allstate Dwelling Protection - Grossly Underestimated

Post by galawdawg »

Building costs per square foot are very localized and much is dependent upon the home and the materials used. The per square foot cost to rebuild a custom luxury home in a VHCOL area that has heated stone flooring, custom cabinetry and intricate/ornate interior trim, marble countertops, high-end appliances, premium mechanical systems including three or more HVAC systems, distributed audio/video/network wiring, whole-house audio systems, and other such features is much higher than the per square foot cost to rebuild a builder-grade tract home in a LCOL area.