Legal issues on helping neighbor with home repair?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
acljump

Legal issues on helping neighbor with home repair?

Post by acljump »

I live in a row house with a flat roof and so my house is attached to my neighbor's house. I discovered a crack on my roof causing leaking in the interior of my house. I looked at my adjoining neighbor's roof and it also has cracks. It should be a fairly minor and basic repair job of patching the cracks with roof cement.

Just being a good neighbor, I informed my neighbor about the cracks on his roof. I told him that I was thinking about patching the cracks on my roof myself and that he should do the same on his roof. He then asked me if I would be willing to patch his roof as well.

I don't have a problem helping him but I'm not a professional roofer or contractor. Is there anything I need to do to cover myself legally in case something happens?

I'm not going to charge him money for the repair aside from maybe chipping in to buy the materials (should be under a hundred bucks). My neighbor is elderly and I get along with my neighbor but aside from saying hello in passing and some small talk I don't really know him otherwise.

Is there an email with some particular wording on it that I can send him that would secure myself legally?
FrugalInvestor

Re: Legal issues on helping neighbor with home repair?

Post by FrugalInvestor »

I'd either just help him or be honest and tell him that you wouldn't want to do the work and then have it fail....so you'd recommend that he find a professional. Even if you choose not to do the work you've done him a favor and likely prevented expensive damage to his home by informing him of the developing problem.
Have a plan, stay the course and simplify, but most importantly....Ignore the Noise!
Shallowpockets

Post by Shallowpockets »