Robot vacuum cleaner for hardwood floor?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
GKSD

Robot vacuum cleaner for hardwood floor?

Post by GKSD »

Looking for recommendations for a robot vacuum cleaner for hardwood floors. DW has put down a robot vacuum cleaner on the wish list for black Friday.

We have hardwood floors throughout the house, both floors. Concern is if the robot uses a brush which may scratch the floor.

Roomba seems popular but there are multiple other cheaper options available on Amazon with 4+ rating.
mushripu

Re: Robot vacuum cleaner for hardwood floor?

Post by mushripu »

The roomba brushes are made from a softish silicone material. It is hard enough to collect dust and smallish rough aggregate if it is on the floor. It is soft enough not to scratch the floor. I have a roomba we run on hardwood and have never seen scratches.
nullisland

Post by nullisland »

The roomba is great. Get the 614 model (the base model without WiFi or an app), it’s under $250 and will last for years. Don’t bother with the higher-end “smart” models, particularly for hardwood.
Longdog

Post by Longdog »

I have a Eufy Robovac that I'm very happy with. Less expensive than the Roomba.
Steve
BV3273

Post by BV3273 »

nullisland wrote: Fri Oct 02, 2020 6:32 pm The roomba is great. Get the 614 model (the base model without WiFi or an app), it’s under $250 and will last for years. Don’t bother with the higher-end “smart” models, particularly for hardwood.
Question. How does it do going over saddles?
workingfornow

Post by workingfornow »

Another vote for Eufy. Works great on hardwood and carpet. Best purchase of the pandemic.
SimplicityNow

Post by SimplicityNow »

We purchased a Roomba 880 back in early 2015 and we have been very happy with it.