DIY life style. Typical Boglehead?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Lets do this thing

Post by Lets do this thing »

I consider myself a hard core DIYer and am wondering if most Bogleheads consider themselves the same. I feel my husband and I come by DIY as a result of lessons learned growing up, both with immigrant grandparents. And yet, we are very different than our siblings, some of whom hire others for everything. We have been lucky over the years because our good health has allowed us to be our own agents. Hubbie is a mechanic, a Mr. Fix it, creative with self taught knowledge in a lot trades. We both cook, clean, and landscape. I can sew anything and have taught myself how to do sheet rock, joint compounding and painting. We built a timber frame house with our own hands. I am in charge of the finances and have been guided by the bogleheads over the years. We are getting older and will have to give up some of these things at some point. Sometimes we are clever and impress ourselves and sometimes we are ridiculous and should just hire people (Cutting down trees, doing our own Will).
What DIY skills have you acquired over the years--especially those that you are proud of?
Normchad

Re: DIY life style. Typical Boglehead?

Post by Normchad »

I think a lot of the bogleheads are very DIY intensive. And lots of others like to farm out the unpleasant work to get more time in their life.

We are almost all DIY when it comes to finance. And for me, that is the one I am most proud of. I am proud of it because I have achieved more financially, than I ever thought possible. And with that, it has given me a lot of freedom and options in the world, which makes my life much better.