Online Resources for Learning Physics (AP Physics / High School)

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
AKBTX14

Online Resources for Learning Physics (AP Physics / High School)

Post by AKBTX14 »

Hi

It's been a long time since I studied Physics. My kid is taking AP Physics-I in high school (school is all on-line).

Lack of in-person classes and a book is not helping my kid in this subject and he asked me for help.

Are there any Physics subject experts / HS teachers here who can direct us to online resources etc. I would not mind re-reading Physics myself to help him as well. Thanks

Regards
Normchad

Re: Online Resources for Learning Physics (AP Physics / High School)

Post by Normchad »

AKBTX14 wrote: Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:01 pm Hi

It's been a long time since I studied Physics. My kid is taking AP Physics-I in high school (school is all on-line).

Lack of in-person classes and a book is not helping my kid in this subject and he asked me for help.

Are there any Physics subject experts / HS teachers here who can direct us to online resources etc. I would not mind re-reading Physics myself to help him as well. Thanks

Regards
I wouldn’t take the entire course this way, but I do think Khan Academy is amazing! Great resource for learning very specific things. I’m sure they cover AP Physics as well.

And here it is: https://www.khanacademy.org/science/ap-physics-1
adamthesmythe

Post by adamthesmythe »

Are you saying that his school is offering a physics course without a textbook??

I can offer three suggestions, which might match up poorly with Whatever They Do Now.

1 PSSC physics. I used it back in the day and it got me started.

2. One of the standard college freshman physics texts. Like Sears Zemansky and Young, co-authored by one of my colleagues, R.I.P.

3. A really advanced student would like the Feynman books, downloadable now for free I think.