Replace my 4 Runner? Update on Repair Post 47

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Carefreeap

Replace my 4 Runner? Update on Repair Post 47

Post by Carefreeap »

It's been a good car but Saturday I got stranded coming home from So. CA. 100 miles from home. The serpentine belt broke probably due to one of pulleys freezing according to the roadside mechanic. Just shy of 180k miles. It's been repaired but sounds terrible and am taking it to the dealer to get checked out. I don't really want to replace it. I'm not really a car person so I don't care that it's 15 years old but my husband has been harping on me to replace the car. One thing I hate about the new cars is all the darn warning systems. They remind me of my mother when I was learning how to drive! I'm a good driver turning 59 in 2 months and haven't been in an accident or got a ticket in over 35 years

So help me with some suggestions. I don't need as big of a car as this one (and I hate the look of the new 4 Runners; big, bulky and mean looking). I'm still into long distance backpacking and we have a cabin in the mountains so I need some ground clearance and 4 or AW drive. I still like the idea that in a pickle I could spend the night in my car. :wink:

I could probably afford anything I like but being a good Boglehead I want value and reliability for my money. I'm most likely buying new because I do keep cars for a long time.

Thank you for your suggestions!
Last edited by Carefreeap on Tue Jun 16, 2020 5:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Every day I can hike is a good day.
cdaddio23

Re: I May Need to Replace my 2005 4 Runner :(

Post by cdaddio23 »

Subaru outback may fit your needs. I'm not sure if they sell models without warning systems though.
CheCha54

Post by CheCha54 »

Find a good/reputable independent mechanic and see what the issues are. 180K is not high milage.
Normchad