Frequency of bike overhaul or tune up

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
helloeveryone

Frequency of bike overhaul or tune up

Post by helloeveryone » Wed May 20, 2020 8:39 pm

I bought a Raleigh Hybrid bike in 2012 for $500 (to give an idea of quality.

Only maintenance was changing tire and tubes this year myself.

During the pandemic I started riding seriously. I’m up to 15 miles at a time. I now want to do good maintenance on it rather than upgrade because I do like the bike.

Do y’all recommend a bike overhaul versus a tune up? and how frequently now that i am biking more seriously

runner3081

Re: Frequency of bike overhaul or tune up

Post by runner3081 » Wed May 20, 2020 8:41 pm

Neither. If it shifts and brakes fine, leave it be. You can also use chain lube oil (on chain) and wipe it down to prevent dirt buildup on frame, etc. Also adjusting brakes and derailleurs is very simple.

whodidntante

Post by whodidntante » Wed May 20, 2020 10:29 pm

My bike shop does it for free, so I let them adjust the cables now and then so they can tell me how busy they are. Clean the chain and chainrings when dirty (I wait until I can see a little sludge), and lightly lube the chain before every ride.

Eventually you'll need tires. I seem to wear mine out every 2-3 years. A thin tire punctures easily. The same is true for cars.