[Use basement air to cool 2nd floor?]

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Mrxyz

[Use basement air to cool 2nd floor?]

Post by Mrxyz »

Hi all,

The basement temperature during summer is around 10F lower than the 2nd floor - so why not install a duct with a fan which moves air from basement to the top floor? I know, I know - I am probably wrong because it sounds too easy to be true. I guess air has to be displaced - that is there cannot be a vacuum created when air leaves the basement and perhaps that is the limiting factor.
Thoughts/ suggestions ?
(Engineers of the forum - this one is for you!)
Mr. Rumples

Re: Basement temperature versus 2nd floor temperature

Post by Mr. Rumples »

I'm not an engineer, just a bit of a VA history enthusiast...we have all seen the cupola on Mt. Vernon. This was functional as well as decorative (alas, it also always was leaking). As hot air rose, it was exhausted out through the cupola; what we call today "passive cooling."

Even at the Constitutional Convention, George Washington was thinking about his cupola: "Let particular care be used to putty, or put copper on all the joints to prevent the leaking, & rotting of the wood as it will be difficult, & expensive to repair it hereafter..." George Washington to George Augustine Washington, Philadelphia 12th Augt 1787 https://founders.archives.gov/documents ... 05-02-0266

Up until the advent of air conditioning, large homes were built with a large central hallway which also functioned as a breezeway with a cupola. The cupola, the large central hallway and later the use of screened "sleeping porches" (our townhouse had a sleeping porch) made homes in the south tolerable by the standards of the day. It helped to keep moisture from building up and even helped dry hay in barns.