Steel-framed Residential Entry Doors

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Brewtownphilee

Steel-framed Residential Entry Doors

Post by Brewtownphilee »

Hello,

Does anyone have any experience in purchasing and/or installing residential steel-framed entry doors? I'm looking at upgrading our entry doors and found several systems from larger manufacturers such as Mastercraft and MMI (Jeld-Wen). However, other than some short Home Depot comments, I have been unable to find any thorough consumer/installer reviews. Any help is much appreciated. Thank you. :beer
"Fortuna Eruditis Favet"
mrsbetsy

Re: Steel-framed Residential Entry Doors

Post by mrsbetsy »

We did this recently in our 45 year old home. We have double entry doors, but the size is no longer standard. We used a locally owned mom and pop shop and could not be happier.

I have no knowledge of the big players so I'd just encourage you...in the current climate...to go local. They will strive for quality service and that's worth a few extra bucks.

Mrs. Betsy
Topic Author
Brewtownphilee

Post by Brewtownphilee »

Thanks for the response. I'm just itching to use my power tool collection, but I will look into some local outfits. :beer
"Fortuna Eruditis Favet"
cheese_breath

Post by cheese_breath »

Is there a difference between a steel-frame door and a steel door? This is an honest question, not sarcasm.
The surest way to know the future is when it becomes the past.
Valuethinker

Post by Valuethinker »

Brewtownphilee wrote: Sun May 03, 2020 10:04 pm Hello,