Split tops of thumbs--ouch!

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Limoncello402

Split tops of thumbs--ouch!

Post by Limoncello402 »

This is the most painful thing, like a big paper cut. I've gotten these occasionally over very dry winters, but it is very bad now due to all the extra hand washing. Does anyone get these splits on their thumbs? It only seems to be thumbs for some reason. A bandaid doesn't stay on it since I am washing my hands so often and generally can't do much with a bulky thing on the thumb. Any solutions? I know this is a minor thing in the wake of all the bad news lately but boy it hurts!
ponyboy

Re: Split tops of thumbs--ouch!

Post by ponyboy »

#firstworldproblems
Cheyenne

Post by Cheyenne »

I'm a musician plagued by the same problem and I've been using these three products by Bob Smith Industries for years:

Maxi-Cure
https://www.amazon.com/Bob-Smith-Indust ... B0000DD1QH

Insta-Set
https://www.amazon.com/Bob-Smith-151-In ... B0000DD1QR

Un-Cure
https://www.amazon.com/Bob-Smith-Indust ... B0000DD1QS

Directions: Wash you hands, apply Maxi-Cure to the cut, spray Insta-Set to harden, wash your hands again, keep Un-Cure handy in case you glue your fingers together. My doctor assured me that it's safe.

Note: NEVER get this glue in your eyes. Wear glasses.
GlennK

Post by GlennK »

I doubt this is a 1st world problem. Anybody that has to do outside work in the winter can experience this. My uncle was a brick layer and had to deal with it.

I have been experiencing the cracked skin for years. Not just the thumbs, but other digits as well.