Boiler cracked - heating alternatives?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
DVMResident

Boiler cracked - heating alternatives?

Post by DVMResident »

We moved from a warm-weather climate to the Boston area ('South Shore'). I'm a complete novice related to heating systems. The oil boiler cracked, needs to be replaced, and I'm getting estimates for $8k~$10k for a replacement. The tank is in good shape.

I am considering alternatives as oil is (1) expensive and (2) environmentally dirty. Single-family home, two-stories totaling ~1400 sq ft plus a 700 sq ft basement, 3 bed/2 baths.

What are the alternatives?
Any contractor recommendations?

Mini-splitters are on my shortlist, but I've heard conflicting opinions about having them as the only heating system.
whodidntante

Re: Boiler cracked - heating alternatives?

Post by whodidntante »

If you have natural gas service it's the absolute cheapest way to heat, unless you get other forms of fuel for free.
Small Savanna

Post by Small Savanna »

Sounds like a great time to switch to natural gas.
Wellfleet

Post by Wellfleet »

It’s just wacky that we are still using home heating oil in New England but that’s the current political situation.

Convert to gas if possible and I might suggest geothermal with all of the state incentives as a second choice.

I have minisplits and they are OK. Certainly cost effective but a bit fickle, need to turn off in ice and snow storms, not great heat distribution, frankly unsightly.
jwasilko

Post by jwasilko »

DVMResident wrote: Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:43 pm We moved from a warm-weather climate to the Boston area ('South Shore'). I'm a complete novice related to heating systems. The oil boiler cracked, needs to be replaced, and I'm getting estimates for $8k~$10k for a replacement. The tank is in good shape.

What are the alternatives?
Any contractor recommendations?