Page 1 of 1

Turbo Tax Basic Problem

Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:37 am
by drdrgolf
Looking for an answer.....
Bought TT Basic from Amazon and installed it on my Desktop. It ran fine and I entered all preliminary info and Wage info and all was well. So far. Now I go to Deductions and it asks if I want to be walked through or enter info on my own. As I choose either, the screen goes blank as though it is looking for the next screen and never changes. Just blank, hangs-up, Nada.
I unInstall and reInstall. Same thing.
I get TT Support and they try for 2.5 hours to no avail. They even upgrade me to Deluxe and the same thing occurs. They escalate the problem and 6 days later, Nada. Guess no help will be my fate.
On a whim, I pull out a laptop, running Windows 10, same as my desktop, and install the Basic program. It works beautifully, all portions, and I am in the process of completing my taxes on the laptop, if Vanguard would send me my 1099 INT.
I am looking for an explanation and answer for my dilemma. Anyone savvy enough to offer a possible fix.
Thanks for any and all assistance.
Dominic :confused

Re: Turbo Tax Basic Problem

Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:49 am
by Silk McCue
Are both machines on the same operating system release? Are they both up to date? Obviously their is something peculiar going on with your desktop which is specific to that machines operating environment. Since this works on your laptop, I wouldn't spend any more significant time on this.

Cheers

Re: Turbotax

Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 9:26 am
by drdrgolf
This is a duplicate of an earlier post in another thread. So, here is the Readers' Digest post.
After 2 hours with Support and a free update to TT Deluxe, my program still didn't run. I was to get an Escalated Support call the next day and here almost 20-25 days later still no call. My old laptop runs the initial disc fine. So I am only mildly upset but next year I say Hello H&R Block.

Dominic

Re: Turbo Tax Basic Problem

Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 4:27 pm
by LadyGeek
^^^ drdrgolf - I merged your duplicate post back into the original thread. The combined thread is now in the Personal Consumer Issues forum (computer help).

Re: Turbo Tax Basic Problem

Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:49 pm
by TetrisCollider
@drdrgolf

Sounds like your TurboTax installation is hosed on Windows 10. Have you tried to uninstall TurboTax through the Control Panel/Remove/Add Program?

If yes (and it did not work), the only solution might be a clean-up/removal of all TurboTax entries in a Windows 10 machine's registry. If you've never worked with Windows registries before, this is not an easy thing and if you don't know exactly what you are doing, you can completely shut down the OS.

Here is a page that provides information on how to "manually" uninstall a program from Windows10 (not easy).

https://www.askvg.com/how-to-completely ... -software/

As another poster mentioned, if this is working on your other computer, I'd just forget about it. However, be aware that this issue is certainly not unique to TurboTax - this can happen with any program, including another Tax Return program.

Re: Turbo Tax Basic Problem

Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:54 pm
by Billionaire
I googled the topic and among many results, this was displayed.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/troub ... s/00/25724