Pharmacist to Data Analyst Role

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
RJC

Pharmacist to Data Analyst Role

Post by RJC » Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:52 am

Dear Friends,

I'm currently a pharmacist in a large gov't agency looking to move towards a data scientist/analyst role. My data experience is somewhat limited to Excel, some basic SQL, relational databases, and Tableau. Where does one begin (formal training or online) to be able to do a better job at analyzing large data sets and perhaps creating predictive models?

I've been doing research online and some folks recommend the following:
1. Statistics and probabilities foundation
2. Fully understand SQL
3. Start learning Python and/or R
4. Be familiar with Cloud structures (AWS, Cloud, Azure)

I know there are a number of computer science/IT folks on here. Any suggestions or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

sergio

Re: Pharmacist to Data Analyst Role

Post by sergio » Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:00 am

An MS in Statistics or related would be ideal. When I was getting my PhD there were several MS students from different fields (Food Science, Psychology, Geology, even Philosophy!) going back to get an MS to change careers. They all have really good jobs now. Any reputable universities near you? I believe there are now several online options available (Texas A&M for example)that were just getting started as I was finishing up ...

I don't know about pharmacy salaries, but I would imagine that you would be taking a non-trivial pay cut your first year as an entry level data analyst...

Topic Author
RJC

Post by RJC » Thu Aug 15, 2019 12:48 pm

sergio wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:00 am