Older used car with low miles or newer used car with higher miles

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Calico

Older used car with low miles or newer used car with higher miles

Post by Calico » Fri Aug 02, 2019 7:09 am

I am still keeping my eye on the used car market. Family and friends laugh at me because I've been doing this for two years now, but my 15-year-old car is still running fine so I don't need or want a replacement yet. I just want to be prepared when it's time so I stay on top of things.

Because it's taking so long for my car to give me signs it needs to be replaced I keep looking at different cars, different models, but basically my short list are cars like a Toyota Corolla, Honda Civic, Mazda 3, Subaru Impreza... you get the idea. I've also looked at Subaru Crosstrek (which is basically a higher sitting Impreza). So far, the Mazda is my favorite of the bunch after test driving all of them. But for the right price, I can be flexible. My budget is $20k and it will be cash.

I am noticing when I comb though used car sites that every now and then I will find an "older" used car with very low miles at a pretty decent price. For example, right now on Carmax there is a 2014 Mazda 3 touring with 37K for $14,700. That's about 7,400 miles a year. Roughly what I put on my current car now. On the flip side there is a 2016 touring with 57k for $16,000. Or on Carvana there is a 2014 touring with just 27k on it for $14,800. But there is a 2017 touring with 25k on it for $17,900.

So what's better, lower mileage and cheaper (but older) or higher mileage and slightly more expensive (but newer)? I can see the pros and cons of both. I tend to lean towards newer with higher mileage but am I right?