How to get good at a racket sport without coaching?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
knightrider

How to get good at a racket sport without coaching?

Post by knightrider » Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:59 am

Specifically interested in squash, but hope to hear from tennis and other racket sport experts.. I've been playing for 15+ years and have plateaued at a B level. Now I am 42 and am trying to see if I can give it one last push to get to A level ( 5.0+ in tennis rating )..

I am not interested in expensive coaching, even though I am sure it would help a lot. I have found that playing players just below me gives me time to work on my weaknesses. I generally don't improve by playing better players who just demolish me. I also think having consistent racket, strings and grip makes a big difference. I used to change this a lot and my game would regress each time. Now I plan to stick with the same equipment forever..

I am not a fan of playing tournaments since I usually play worse away from my "home-court" advantage. So I don't learn anything..

Other tips/experiences from top players?

KlangFool

Re: How to get good at a racket sport without coaching?

Post by KlangFool » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:02 am

OP,

Youtube. There are some pretty good youtube training videos on those sports.

KlangFool

bighatnohorse

Post by bighatnohorse » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:03 am

YouTube - have you checked it out?

runner3081

Post by runner3081 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:12 am

Ball machine.

Hit thousands of balls per day for tennis.

Not sure if there is anything like this for squash.

ThankYouJack

Post by ThankYouJack » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:15 am

I would play players slightly better than you. So they can take advantage of your weaknesses and you're forced to get better or lose. You're also forced to learn their strategy and try to exploit their weaknesses.