Car Top Carrier

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Barefootgirl

Car Top Carrier

Post by Barefootgirl » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:19 pm

I own a Toyota Rav 4. Next month, I need to transport some household items to a relative living 350 miles away.

I will not be able to fit everything into the relatively small cargo area of the RAV4.

I have never used a car top carrier before, but this vehicle came with a rack for a carrier.

Any recommendations? Are they difficult to secure? Any center of gravity issues?

Thank you.
How many retired people does it take to screw in a lightbulb? Only one, but he takes all day.

fortfun

Re: Car Top Carrier

Post by fortfun » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:31 pm

Barefootgirl wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:19 pm
I own a Toyota Rav 4. Next month, I need to transport some household items to a relative living 350 miles away.

I will not be able to fit everything into the relatively small cargo area of the RAV4.

I have never used a car top carrier before, but this vehicle came with a rack for a carrier.

Any recommendations? Are they difficult to secure? Any center of gravity issues?

Thank you.
Will you use it long term? If not, Rubbermaid makes a canvas topper that costs about $25. I have one and use it when I'm flying, and then renting a car that is not large enough to hold family's luggage, etc.
https://www.target.com/p/rainproof-car- ... lsrc=aw.ds

Thule and Yakima make excellent toppers. Properly installed, there should be ZERO problems with anything but they are pretty expensive. They are easy to install but you'll need a step stool/ladder. Read the instructions. I bought mine for half price from an REI garage sale (it was brand new with a small scratch). It might be worth looking at some used ones on Craigslist or Facebook market place.
Last edited by fortfun on Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nestegg_User