One-day sale on cable modems [Amazon]

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
lazydavid

One-day sale on cable modems [Amazon]

Post by lazydavid » Tue May 14, 2019 7:48 am

There have been a few threads over the past few months about buying your own cable modem, which saves a ton of money in the long run vs. renting. Amazon happens to have most of the Arris models on sale today. I've been using them exclusively for the past 25 years or so (they were Motorola until about 8 years ago). Never had one fail, just replaced when they were no longer supported by my provider.

I've had the SB8200 for about two years, and it's been great. The SB6183 is also fine. Avoid the SB6190 at all costs, as it has a defective Intel Puma chipset that causes connection issues for which there is no fix.

No angle for me, just pointing it out for the group.

rj342

Re: One-day sale on cable modems [Amazon]

Post by rj342 » Tue May 14, 2019 11:13 am

Thanks.
Related question-- anyone ever come across a retail consumer cable modem that had had the phone line port?
We still keep a landline, thru cable co last couple years, but it means I can't use my own modem and get rid of thst equipment cost like I used to.

bluebolt

Post by bluebolt » Tue May 14, 2019 11:26 am

rj342 wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 11:13 am
Thanks.
Related question-- anyone ever come across a retail consumer cable modem that had had the phone line port?
We still keep a landline, thru cable co last couple years, but it means I can't use my own modem and get rid of thst equipment cost like I used to.
Two thoughts -
Check eBay/Craigslist. I have found things like this on those sites.
Port your number to Ooma or a similar service and ditch the cable company equipment.

Dottie57

Post by Dottie57 » Tue May 14, 2019 11:34 am

lazydavid wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 7:48 am