Park City Utah Hiking

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Bacchus01

Park City Utah Hiking

Post by Bacchus01 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:53 am

I know there are a lot of hikers here, so I thought I’d ask.

I have a business trip to Park City Utah in late June. I’d like to go early and get some good hiking in.

I’m looking for two bike recommendations. One a nice 3-4 hour with good scenery, maybe the lakes, etc. willing to drive several hours if necessary.

Then I’d like to do a much harder one. The highest peak seems like it is not doable (like 26 miles round trip) but something like Bald Mountain looks good. I have some experience at altitude, completing a 14K hike last summer in Colorado. I prefer loops, but out and back are okay. 4-6 hours is ideal and something under 8 miles with lots of elevation. I want 11K door min and 12k foot ideally.

Any strong recommendations?

Thanks!

livesoft

Re: Park City Utah Hiking

Post by livesoft » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:54 am

I have not been there in 40 years, so cannot give a specific recommendation. But if you haven't already, then I would check out AllTrails.com for some ideas and recent comments from actual hikers.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

stoptothink

Post by stoptothink » Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:00 am

I'm doing Mount Timpanogos https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/utah ... spen-grove with my wife and about 25 friends (mostly my employees) on June 22nd. Not too congested if you hit it early enough. About a 30min drive from Park City. We've done pretty much everything in the area that is <8hrs for people in good shape; planning on doing King's Peak next year. Hit AllTrails for more options.

InMyDreams

Post by InMyDreams » Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:26 am

Lots of good hiking books for hiking in the Wasatch and the Uintas
https://www.wasatchhiker.com/favorites