Do others dislike Vanguard's new website as much as me?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
bmorgy

Post by bmorgy » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:13 pm

[Title was "Vanguard's Website - Bad, or just me?" --admin LadyGeek]

Hi all,

I've been using Vanguard's website for a few months now and think that it is one of the worst investment web interfaces that I've ever used. I keep thinking that I must be missing something since everyone loves Vanguard so much! Yes, they have great products - but, gee, the website leaves much to be desired, or is it just me??

I also have an account with TIAA-CREF. Their website is a work of beauty. Rebalancing a portfolio with them takes mere minutes as one can buy/sell investments based on either dollar amounts or percentages. I love the percentages! You just enter 10% of this, 40% of that, and 50% of another -- and voila, it handles all of the ugly math.

With Vanguard, I need to calculate my required balances using Excel, then enter all the current share prices to calculate how many shares I will need to buy and sell -- and then finally enter each transaction individually into their website using their goofy transaction entry screen. Yuck! To make matters worse, since I maintain separate accounts (IRA, SEP, ROTH), I need to do this for each account. Double Yuck!!

Thoughts?? With enough complaints, maybe they'll spend a few dollars on their website and actually provide a better experience!

Cheers.

Phineas J. Whoopee

Re: Vanguard's Website - Bad, or just me?

Post by Phineas J. Whoopee » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:20 pm

Investors here who like Vanguard mostly like them for their low-cost offerings. Not everybody agrees about sticking with broad-market index funds. The box they come in is less important.

The map is not the territory.

PJW

JamesSFO

Post by JamesSFO » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:21 pm