Setting up home office for first time

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
yolli71

Setting up home office for first time

Post by yolli71 »

I'm in the process of setting up a home office as I plan to start teleworking a little bit this year. I'm a Fed and have a Dell laptop for work. My agency doesn't cover my home office setup, so I was hoping to get some advice since I'm not a computer expert.

Can someone tell me:

1. If I want dual monitors, should I go that route or should I go with an ultrawide monitor such as the Dell U3417W? https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IOO4TIM?ta ... AAAAXFy04w

2. Do I need to purchase a docking station or can I connect the laptop via USB or some other type of wired connection to the monitor?

3. Any other advice as far as keyboard and mouse? Should I go wired or wireless route?

Any general advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking for the best bang for my buck.

Re: Setting up home office for first time

Post by 123 »

Maybe you should start by cloning the equipment you use at work to your home situation. If an arrangement works at work it could very well work at home as well. By adopting the approach taken by your employer you may find the most cost-effective situation for home situation, employers are not known for adding features that not cost-effective.
The closest helping hand is at the end of your own arm.
Epsilon Delta

Post by Epsilon Delta »

Have you ever tried to do your job using just the laptop? I find dual monitors and docking stations to be mostly useless. Depends what you are doing of course, but in many organizations they are status symbols rather than work enablers.

Probably far more important is who else will be at home when you're working, and what type of door do you have on your office.
WildBill

Post by WildBill »

Howdy