Car Battery

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Namashkar

Car Battery

Post by Namashkar » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:00 pm

Hello,

I am planning to be away for a few months while my car is not going to be used. Since some BHs may have experienced same issue I was wondering how they handled it. I am thinking about removing the wires from battery terminals so the electronics may not drain the battery. In one previous occasion my battery drained and I needed a jump which was I convenient since the car was parked in the garage. I am not good at auto things, would I just uncable one terminal and if so which one (+ or -)?

Thanks,

pqwerty

Re: Car Battery

Post by pqwerty » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:08 pm

Could use a battery tender as well.

brianH

Post by brianH » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:10 pm

Your best bet is to remove both battery connection terminals and get a 'trickle charger' that you then connect to the battery. This will very slowly replenish the charge as it sits. Many auto stores or Amazon have choices that should run you about $20.

LadyGeek
Site Admin

Post by LadyGeek » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:10 pm

Namashkar - You had a duplicate post, which I've removed. There were no replies. This isn't a big deal, don't worry about it.

(Thanks to the member who reported the post. One of the reasons is "Duplicate thread".)
Wiki To some, the glass is half full. To others, the glass is half empty. To an engineer, it's twice the size it needs to be.

neilpilot

Post by neilpilot » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:13 pm

brianH wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:10 pm
Your best bet is to remove both battery connection terminals and get a 'trickle charger' that you then connect to the battery. This will very slowly replenish the charge as it sits. Many auto stores or Amazon have choices that should run you about $20.