Spotify or Amazon Music?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
tc101

Spotify or Amazon Music?

Post by tc101 » Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:13 pm

I want to put music on my phone and listen to it in my car by connecting to blue tooth speakers. Reading reviews online I see that I can do this with either Spotify or Amazon Music for about the same price (I have amazon prime). I am not in the Apple system so don't want to use them.

One thing I am not clear on is what music will be stored on the phone and what will stream. With podcasts they load on my phone when I am at home connected to wifi, so I am not doing phone streaming while I drive. Do both Spotify and Amazon Music do this?

Unless someone tells me otherwise I will probably go with Amazon since I already have an Amazon account.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

edgeway

Re: Spotify or Amazon Music?

Post by edgeway » Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:26 pm

Assuming you’re talking about the paid/premium subscriptions of each (I.e., an apples to apples comparison) then you can’t really go wrong with either. However, be aware that once you get used to one user interface it becomes quite hard to switch. Part of that is also due to the fact that once you start saving your music to one application you can’t transfer that catalogue to another provider (I’ve tried and it’s messy). So while I now user Spotify exclusively, my wife uses amazon music and both of us find it impossible to switch for the reasons I’ve stated (and it would be cheaper for us to just be on one or the other so we could get the family subscription).

1TheGame

Post by 1TheGame » Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:28 pm