Thoughts on the New Macbook Air?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Small Law Survivor

Thoughts on the New Macbook Air?

Post by Small Law Survivor » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:04 am

I've been holding off on replacing my 2010 (that's not a typo) Macbook Pro for a lonnnnng time. Just couldn't pull the trigger on a new computer.

But, I'm tempted by the new Macbook Air. My only hesitation (at this point) is the microprocessor. According to trustedreviews.com:
A dual-core 8th gen Intel Core i5 CPU with a base clock speed of 1.6GHz and boost speed of 3.6GHz runs the show, promising speeds that will delight both web browsers and creatives.
I'm not a techie - I was (sorta) 25 years ago, but now I'm just a consumer. So, I have no idea where these CPUs fall on the power-continuum, and for what kinds of applications they may fall short. I assume they must fall short at some point, or this new computer will cannibalize sales of the higher-end Macbook Pros.

Any advice on this issue (or other observations on the pros/cons of this computer) would be appreciated.

Uniballer

Re: Thoughts on the New Macbook Air?

Post by Uniballer » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:14 am

Go to the Apple Store and play with it. If you don't think it is faster than any computer you have owned to date then don't buy it.

Dave55

Post by Dave55 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:17 am

An Apple certified Tech/Consultant that I use occasionally for complex issues suggested to me that the MacBook Pro may be better way to go than the new Air. For about the same dollars (for my specific needs), and 1/4 pound more weight, you get better/faster processors, more memory, more ports and more storage. Having said that the Air is a fine choice if you don't need the additional speed, memory and ports. I have not made a final decision yet though, still mulling.

Dave

watchnerd

Post by watchnerd » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:20 am