I need a chainsaw to trim branches and limbs!!

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
dundee

I need a chainsaw to trim branches and limbs!!

Post by dundee » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:39 pm

Friends,

I live in a suburban neighborhood on 1/2 acre. I need to buy a chainsaw to trim several branches and limbs in my yard. I am tired of hand sawing the branches. I have never used a chainsaw before, but, I can figure out the safety stuff. I will never use it to cut trees. I think I want an electric cordless chainsaw. I don't want to carry a heavy (gas) saw and don't want to have the long cord behind me. Am I right in thinking that cordless electric saw would be best? In order to buy a good product, I am willing to spend up to $200.
  • My preliminary search shows saws in the lengths of 10, 12, 14, 16, 18 inches. As described in my needs above (occasional trimmer), what length should I go for?
  • there are 20V, 40V, 2.0AH, 4.0AH. WHat do I need?
  • there are self lubricating, brushless motor etc features. Which of those do I need?
  • any particular brand that you recommend? Any specific model from your experience?
Thank you.

dm200

Re: I need a chainsaw to trim branches and limbs!!

Post by dm200 » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:42 pm

Hire someone who:

1. Has the right equipment
2. Knows what he/she is doing

Mjar

Post by Mjar » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:47 pm

dm200 wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:42 pm
Hire someone who: