Sellers beware on eBay.

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
kjvmartin

Sellers beware on eBay.

Post by kjvmartin » Sun Aug 19, 2018 2:48 pm

We've been cleaning out our living space to make room for a new baby. Part of that has been listing and selling books and other small trinkets on eBay. I'm rather new to selling, but was very impressed with the ease of snapping a cell phone pic and listing with the iOS app. In addition to other items, I sold five books to different buyers for $1.00 each. The shipping for each book was ~$4 for media mail and I made about $4 total profit after all of the fees. Obviously this is chump change, but I had no idea how easily abused a seller could be and would be very wary of selling anything of value on ebay ever.

One of the buyers filed a claim of "not as described" for a used $0.99 medical text book. The product description was "4th edition" and he requested a refund because he wanted the 5th edition. The product description was clear. It was his error, he bought the wrong item. I offered him to keep the item and would refund him the $0.99. He escalated everything through ebay and they have, somehow, sided with him through the process. They have also frozen my PayPal funds. Here's what happens when eBay determines you have listed an item "not as described." I submitted my own counterclaims that he abused the buyer protection policy, but after each review they have denied it each time.

#1. You are billed for a return shipping label. $4.00

#2. You have to return all of the funds to the buyer upon receipt of the return item. $5.00