Need some help understanding Roboform pricing

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Post Reply
knightrider
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:20 am

Need some help understanding Roboform pricing

Post by knightrider » Sun May 13, 2018 4:55 pm

I have been using roboform for 10+ years. But I've been limping along with an old version on my desktop for the past four years. I am ready to upgrade, but seems the new pricing model has changed. Is this roboform everywhere a yearly subscription model that works on all your desktops? If so, how is that difference from the web based roboform that works on any browser? One complaint I had with the web-based version is you can't create new logins. It only lets you view your logins/passcodes.

One complaint with the old licensing model was the program would become incompatible with newer browsers. So it would only last a year or two until you upgraded your browser. Then it would force you to buy a new license.

I find this new pricing infuriatingly complex for something that should be simple... I am open to switching companies, but I have hundreds of logins/passcodes saved.. I can't imagine manually inputting them into a new software.

User avatar
Pajamas
Posts: 6015
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:32 pm

Re: Need some help understanding Roboform pricing

Post by Pajamas » Sun May 13, 2018 7:16 pm

knightrider wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 4:55 pm
I am open to switching companies, but I have hundreds of logins/passcodes saved.. I can't imagine manually inputting them into a new software.
It is usually possible to import data when switching password managers. For instance:

https://lastpass.com/support.php?cmd=showfaq&id=806

Probably wouldn't be a bad idea to eliminate some of the hundreds of logins and passcodes you have saved and simply your digital life, regardless.

gtd98765
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:15 am

Re: Need some help understanding Roboform pricing

Post by gtd98765 » Mon May 14, 2018 1:07 am

I believe Roboform Everywhere costs $20 per year. This allows you to synch your passwords among computers, cell phones, etc. There is a free version that does not synch, but is okay if you only want it on one computer.

edit: removed incorrect info.

knightrider
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:20 am

Re: Need some help understanding Roboform pricing

Post by knightrider » Fri May 18, 2018 9:32 am

Thanks. I ended up emailing their support folks and they replied:

"RoboForm Everywhere license allows to use RoboForm on up to 9 devices. You can install RoboForm 8 on up to 9 computers and sync data via online account."

I am glad they answered my question instead of some copy/pasted reply to look at the website..

User avatar
jharkin
Posts: 1696
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Boston suburbs

Re: Need some help understanding Roboform pricing

Post by jharkin » Fri May 18, 2018 10:07 am

I dont use Roboform, but I wanted to add a general comment.

SaaS delivery and subscription based licensing is the direction the entire software industry is moving to. Other big examples: No more "versions" of windows, Office 365, Adobe Creative Cloud, and so on..

So you are going to face the same licensing frustrations even if you move to another product.

Post Reply