Thunderbird Malfunction

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
sport

Thunderbird Malfunction

Post by sport » Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:48 pm

I have been using Thunderbird for my email for the last 8 years or so. It has performed flawlessly and I have been very happy with it. Lately, it shows that it is connected to the web site where my email arrives, but it does not send the password and the download does not take place. When this happens, I can close Thunderbird and reopen it (sometimes it takes multiple reopenings) and then it works for a time. Then the same thing happens again, over and over. I have reloaded a new copy of Thunderbird (after backing up the original), but the problem persists. Does anyone have any suggestions?

CFIT

Re: Thunderbird Malfunction

Post by CFIT » Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:38 pm

In Thunderbird ( 52.6.0) the bottom panel in my screen shows status in the left corner. When I hit the "Get Messages" button in T-bird that are shows things like "me@myhost.com" logging in, checking for mail, etc. Do you have that status panel and what does it say when you try to get messages?

When this happens, are you able to use a web browser to login to your email?

DiamondplateDave

Post by DiamondplateDave » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:24 pm

It might help if you disclosed what email domain and OS you are using.
Although it is apparently untrue that Thunderbird will be unsupported, I think I've had some trouble with gmail. Google says Thunderbird is not a secure application or something. I've had to set gmail to allow Tbird to access email. You might check and see if your email provider offers instructions on how to set up Thunderbird, or at least an IMAP client and check your settings.

You could try making a new user profile, installing Thunderbird, and see what happens. It's possible something in your profile has gotten corrupt.

sport