Least Expensive Way to Comprehensively Learn Law

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
learner100

Least Expensive Way to Comprehensively Learn Law

Post by learner100 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:47 pm

I want to get a comprehensive legal education. For the last 2 years I have been reading textbooks on law. I don't plan on practicing law.

Is there a better way to comprehensively learn law than by self-teaching as I am doing now?

If the entire cost of law school was under $10K, I would consider it, but that's not reality.

FOLLOW UP:
I am looking into the 'law school full ride for high LSAT scores' idea mentioned below. What is the incentive of the law school to do this? I am not a protected class and so I would not be adding to their diversity pool.
Last edited by learner100 on Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ivk5

Re: Least Expensive Way to Comprehensively Learn Law

Post by ivk5 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:50 pm

Can you be a bit more specific about goal/motivation?

Most practicing lawyers will probably tell you they are far from having "comprehensively" learned the law, unless you mean a specific area of expertise/focus...

bgf

Post by bgf » Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:54 pm

yea, why? do you want to practice some day? if so, i would recommend you take a bazillion practice LSATs and get to where you can score in the 170s half asleep. you should be able to go for free at that point.
“TE OCCIDERE POSSUNT SED TE EDERE NON POSSUNT NEFAS EST"

huntertheory

Post by huntertheory » Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:03 pm