I got a Roomba and think you should too

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
cbr shadow

I got a Roomba and think you should too

Post by cbr shadow » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:32 pm

I see Roomba questions pop up every once in a while on this forum so I thought I’d post my recent experiences.

I live in the SF Bay Area and live in a 1,000 sqft house with my wife and (2) large dogs. Dog hair is a constant issue in our house, and requires constant clean up. The hair sits noticeably on hardwood, tile, and gets into rugs that are hard to clean out with our regular ($500 ‘shark’) upright vacuum. My wife has been talking about getting a house cleaner to come 2-4x per month since we both work a lot and spend too much time on weekends cleaning.

Anyways, after seeing discussion on this forum and another forum we decided to try a Roomba. We purchased a Roomba 690 through Bed Bath and Beyond (unlimited return policy) with a 20% coupon (total ~$325). It worked well, but I was disappointed by the logic it used for vacuuming a room. It seemed to randomly bounce around a room vacuuming, which is frustrating to watch as is barely misses pieces of dirt/fur. Eventually it did actually pickup just about everything. The biggest upside was that we could tell it to vacuum while we were gone, or set up a schedule to do it while we’re at work. Overall it was a huge improvement.

I started reading online reviews and saw that the best model (Roomba 980) is more powerful, uses a camera/sensors to vacuum in straight lines, and sends you a map for where it’s been. We ended up taking our Roomba 690 back to Bed Bath and Beyond and buying the Roomba 980 with the same 20% off coupon. That coupon excludes Roomba 900 series, but it worked for us. Total cost was ~$760.