Danger of being a helicopter pilot?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
OnFire

Danger of being a helicopter pilot?

Post by OnFire » Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:00 am

I work as a firefighter/paramedic in a major metropolitan area. I recently visited out Air/Sea Rescue branch and talked to the Commander. He told me that they have 10 pilots, and that half of them are retiring in the next 5-8 years. The general consensus is that the pay is about the same as my current position, but because there is such a small pool, there is a much higher chance of getting overtime. To the tune of $20-40k a year. I currently make about $110k a year.

The training costs about $15-18k thousand. I am 43 and plan on retiring at 55, perhaps slightly longer, depending on where my boys, abde 6 and 7 go to college. I might also stay longer if I go this route, as it will be less taxing on my body. I have already had one reconstructive shoulder surgeriy on each arm. And one on my knee from skiing.

I asked my wife and she said she thought flying helicopters was incredibly dangerous. She forgets I run into burning building and go to shootings basically every week.

I also thought I might be able to get a retirement job as a helicopter pilot for a few years for fun. Maybe between the ages of 55-60.

I wanted to fly in the military when I was young, and hope slightly that my sons will choose that path. I thought this would be a cool way to introduce that to them.

It is dangerous flying. You fly infrequently, and in dangerous weather. You have to hover just above the water as the SCUBA divers jump out of the helicopter.

Are there any helicopter pilots here? What is helicopter pilot pay like for the tourist gigs? Is it worth the risk/ benefit?
Where are all the customers yachts? | | “The most powerful force in the Universe is compound interest.” -Albert Einstein

Daryl