Health insurance gamble?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
dm1898

Health insurance gamble?

Post by dm1898 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:49 am

Hello bogleheads,

I've been a longtime reader, but this is my first time posting. I have a unique health insurance question that I've been struggling with and would like some feedback.

The situation is my wife is a nurse at a local hospital and our family of 4 get our medical insurance from her employer. She recently went on maternity leave when she had our second daughter. She has been on the job for less than a year and thus was not eligible for FMLA when she went on maternity leave on Sept 4th. Our medical benefits were unchanged for the duration of September, but we were informed beforehand that for October we would need to apply for COBRA benefits at the tune of $2100 for the month. Obviously this was not the best news but I had no issue paying out the full amount to be covered. I made sure my wife was in contact with the HR department leading up to the leave to be sure we would not have any issues with these benefit changes. Well despite our best efforts the HR department has dropped the ball and we are currently not covered by COBRA, and will be unable to get coverage until HR corrects the issue. We call them everyday and they really don't have an answer as to when things will be lined up.

Obviously with a newborn at home, a wife that just had a C-section, and a 1.5 year old I would like to have health insurance, but at the same time if HR doesn't get us setup with cobra until half way through the month I'm reluctant to spend the $2100. The only scheduled appointment that can't get pushed back is a routine checkup for the newborn that I'm willing to just pay the cash price on if it comes to that. We only have to make it until November 1st at which time my wife will be starting back at work and coverage will continue.