Looking for advice on an automotive paint job.

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
MrNewEngland

Looking for advice on an automotive paint job.

Post by MrNewEngland » Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:13 am

I recently bought an older (2006) RX-8. It's nothing special, I've just always wanted on. They came out about the same time I graduated college and it was the car I wanted... but couldn't afford.

I found one that was mechanically pretty good but the body isn't the best. No rust or anything, just a couple dings and the previous owner handpainted the roof when it started to peel and it looks bad.

I know I am not going to get my money back out of this car, but it's just something fun to play around in.

Maaco is currently running a paint special and after I add the dings being repaired and adding clearcoat I could have the whole car done for about $650. I know I am basically putting lipstick on a pig so I think I am going to go that route (it's way cheaper than the quote I got from a body shop).

Any advice from my fellow BHs would be appreciated.

THY4373

Re: Looking for advice on an automotive paint job.

Post by THY4373 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:19 am

Maaco generally has a horrible reputation. I have honestly never used them but I have seen a few of their paint jobs and was completely unimpressed. They are independently owned I believe so there might be some variation. I believe much of the cost in paint jobs is preparation and this is where they cut corners. If you just want the car to look sorta of good from afar Maaco might be ok but realize you are getting no more (and possibly less) than you pay for. There is a reason they are much cheaper than a body shop.

curmudgeon

Post by curmudgeon » Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:27 am