Management career job search

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
prettybogle

Management career job search

Post by prettybogle »

Good Friday BH gurus. We really benefited a lot from the collective wisdom of everyone in this great forum. As always, Hope to get great advice, information on this one.
I worked as a technology lead in a IT shop but gave a break of about 6 months and stayed home to take care of our daughter. I am now contemplating to start working again. I am interested in pursuing management career. I'd really appreciate if y'all help me with some pointers on job search, study materials, learning resources online and anything else helpful.
youdiditr2

Re: Management career job search

Post by youdiditr2 »

Volunteer for project. Take lead in assignment. Become a subject matter expert in something. Kiss up to people that can put you in management.
Knowing the right people is just as important as knowning your job. Most manager don't even know crap about what their reports are doing!

That worked for me!
JBTX

Post by JBTX »

Mostly about networking. Linked in. Follow up with prior work contacts. Find network groups in the field you are looking.
Billionaire

Post by Billionaire »

youdiditr2 wrote: Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:31 pm. Kiss up to people that can put you in management.
Dang, wish I knew that 20 years ago.
Topic Author
prettybogle

Post by prettybogle »

Thanks for the replies. I'd really appreciate any pointers on job search, study materials, learning resources online and anything else helpful.
gunn_show

Post by gunn_show »

JBTX wrote: Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:32 pm Mostly about networking. Linked in. Follow up with prior work contacts. Find network groups in the field you are looking.