Lawn Experts Help! How to get rid of this weed?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Houston101

Lawn Experts Help! How to get rid of this weed?

Post by Houston101 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:52 am

New home owner here and I have been searching the internet to figure out what weed this is and how to get rid of this. Can anyone tell me what this weed is and what is the best way to get rid of it?

I know there is another weed that closes it's leaves when touched and bears purplish round flowers. This is NOT that! The leaves may appear closed because I plucked them out of the lawn. These are spreading rapidly from one corner of my lawn to other.

I am in South texas if that helps. All the pictures I saw in internet are hard to distinguish probably because I am a newbie.

sport

Re: Lawn Experts Help! How to get rid of this weed?

Post by sport » Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:54 am

A broad-leaf weed killer such as 2-4D should work. Another method is to use "Weed-and-Feed".

rustymutt

Post by rustymutt » Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:55 am

Take that weed into your local county extension office. They should be able to answer all your questions.
My guess is a spurge of some variety.
I'm amazed at the wealth of Knowledge others gather, and share over a lifetime of learning. The mind is truly unique. It's nice when we use it!

atomicsquirrel

Post by atomicsquirrel » Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:05 am

It its in your lawn , as others have stated any selective broad leaf weedkiller will do the job without harming you grass. If its in a patio or other areas were you don't care about the surrounding vegetation, then Roundup or generic equivalent will do ya. I personally always buy the generic concentrate rather than premix. You can up the strength if necessary and the cost is much much cheaper.

Valdeselad

Post by Valdeselad » Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:18 am