Should I buy a paint sprayer?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
BrianMc

Should I buy a paint sprayer?

Post by BrianMc » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:16 pm

We're on our third home in 15+ years. The first two were new and I painted both interiors. Currently on our third home, which is approaching 40 years old. We have several projects on the horizon to include a complete re-siding job in the very near future. Because this will change the entire look of the exterior, I'll have to either paint the two-car garage door and some exterior doors myself or pay to have it done (I've been quoted $300-400). I've always been a roller and brush guy, but considering I have some other interior jobs to tackle in the next year or so, I'm thinking about purchasing a sprayer. I have zero experience using sprayers. So, I'm wondering if it makes sense to purchase one. If so, I'd like to hear about recommendations, if they're appropriate for interiors, etc. Thanks. -Brian

runner3081

Re: Should I buy a paint sprayer?

Post by runner3081 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:01 pm

When we painted our last house, we ended up buying a sprayer from Harbor Freight. With a coupon, the cost was about the same price as a rental. Used it to paint the outside of the house with no issues... then sold it for what we paid 2-weeks later.

Unless your house is vacant (for interior painting), plan on a brush and a roller. My good friend is a painter and he will only spray vacant houses without any furniture, trim, etc.

user5027

Post by user5027 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:11 pm

I never used a sprayer but my experience may help you.