Doing dishes while camping

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
bligh

Doing dishes while camping

Post by bligh »

Alright so I know this is a personal finance forum and this question has very little to do with personal finance but I am sure there are going to be some of you who are seasoned outdoors people, and this is something that has been bothering me for some time. Hopefully there is someone on here who can share a helpful tip or two with me.

Here is question.

I've been going car+tent camping quite frequently with my kids (we've been averaging about 4 times a year). I never got to do any of this as a kid and hardly anyone in my social circle seems to be into it, so I am pretty much self taught. I have a system down for just about everything except washing the dishes. How do you guys do your dishes?

I dont like using disposable plates/spoons/etc. because something about creating trash while being in the outdoors just doesn't sit right with me. If there is a faucet available near by I will take my dishes there and wash them being as careful as possible with the water, but the cold water and biodegradable soap just fail at removing the grease so I inevitably end up using a lot more water than I would like. Also I noticed that very few people seem to wash dishes near the faucet. (In bear territory I have seen warnings against doing it)... it is almost like the other campers dont have dishes to wash or have some magical way of cleaning the dishes and then disposing of the dirty water. I imagine the guys with the RVs just use their kitchen, but there are plenty of others who I see car camping! How do they do it?

So does anyone have any advice for me? I want the cleanest dishes/utensils possible, with minimum effort, minimum water usage, minimum biodegradable soap, minimum trash and minimum scent (for when I am in bear country).