Beginner needs help choosing which compact camera to buy!

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
fireman44

Beginner needs help choosing which compact camera to buy!

Post by fireman44 »

Hello everyone. I am looking to purchase a compact camera in the range of $600-$700. I see some good options that had positive reviews on some websites. I am a beginner with camera's and don't have much knowledge with them. So a simpler camera to use would be a big plus. I have a newborn and this camera would be used mostly to shoot him as he grows and my wife would love to take nature photos outdoors. So what I would think I am looking for is a simple, point and shoot ready camera that offers great quality pictures without much tweaking.

Some options I have found in my price range are:

Sony RX100 lll, Panasonic Lumix LX10 or LX100, Panasonic Lumix ZS100, Nixon Coolpix P900, Canon G7 X Mark ll.

Those are the best options I could narrow it down to myself, unless someone can mention anything else that could possibly be better.

Thanks for all the responses and help in making me purchase the right camera for my family's needs! :sharebeer
texasdiver

Re: Beginner needs help choosing which compact camera to buy!

Post by texasdiver »

We own 3 nice digital cameras but have found that for shooting kids we pretty much only use the iPhones anymore. The camera in your pocket is the one you will use and iPhones have gotten pretty good.

If you are not a serious photographer then there are two reasons to get a nicer camera in my mind:

1. Zoom. Once you start shooting things like your kids soccer game it is nice to have a camera with a better zoom than you can find on a phone. We have a Canon superzoom that is great for sports shots.