Advice for someone new to Management Consulting

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
acc17

Advice for someone new to Management Consulting

Post by acc17 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:35 pm

All,

I've been working for a few months as an analyst at a major management consulting firm, and looking to gain a little advice on how to succeed in the industry.

1) What do you think epitomizes a successful management consultant?
2) Any sort of skills that I should learn that would help me out?
3) Consulting frameworks (ex -- benchmarking, Porter's Five Forces) that would be helpful in solving the typical issues in this field
4) Books or other references to the field

I'm completely new to this industry, and figured BH would be the best place to look to for advice. I check the forums daily, and the input given is so helpful. Any and all comments are welcome!

heanbean

Re: Advice for someone new to Management Consulting

Post by heanbean » Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:11 pm

Have you read Carnegie's How to Win Friends and Influence People? If not, get it immediately. It should be mandatory reading for all consultants.

vveat

Post by vveat » Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:15 pm

My 2 cents below.

1) What do you think epitomizes a successful management consultant?