can't logon to vanguard account [Website Down]

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
chipperd
Posts: 773
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:58 am

can't logon to vanguard account [Website Down]

Post by chipperd »

Hello all,
Wondering if anyone else can't logon to their vanguard account? Maybe b/c it's fairly early (5:20am eastern) and they are performing maint?
Thanks
Chipperd
"A portfolio is like a bar of soap, the more it's handled, the less there is." Dr. William Bernstein
User avatar
SpringMan
Posts: 5421
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Michigan

Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by SpringMan »

Strange behavior this morning on Vanguard. Logged in but can't display balances or even logoff. Reminds me of the Eagles song Hotel California. Hope this is not a sign of things to come.

By the way, the time stamp on the main Bogleheads board is off by 1 hour, not on daylight saving time. When post is opened the time stamp inside is correct.
Best Wishes, SpringMan
User avatar
yatesd
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:19 am
Location: MD

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by yatesd »

Also down for me...
User avatar
avenger
Posts: 862
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:11 pm

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by avenger »

You're not alone.
cheers ... -Mark | "Our life is frittered away with detail. Simplify. Simplify." -Henry David Thoreau | [VTI, VXUS, VWITX, SV fund]
User avatar
SpringMan
Posts: 5421
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Michigan

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by SpringMan »

I see this is a duplicate post, user chipperd and others have the same problem..
Best Wishes, SpringMan
pipefitter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:15 pm

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by pipefitter »

Same here!
Topic Author
chipperd
Posts: 773
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:58 am

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by chipperd »

Ok. thanks feel a bit better about this then
Chipperd
"A portfolio is like a bar of soap, the more it's handled, the less there is." Dr. William Bernstein
User avatar
oldcomputerguy
Moderator
Posts: 9440
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:50 am
Location: In the middle of five acres of woods in East Tennessee

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by oldcomputerguy »

Still down .....
:(
"I’ve come around to this: If you’re dumb, surround yourself with smart people; and if you’re smart, surround yourself with smart people who disagree with you." (Aaron Sorkin)
Swansea
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 5:16 am

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by Swansea »

6am EST still down
mancich
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by mancich »

Same here. Still acting that way as of 6:25am EST
User avatar
jhfenton
Posts: 4665
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:17 am
Location: Ohio

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by jhfenton »

Down for me too. I can get to the front page, but it stalls after hitting "Log on".
rainyday1
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:22 am
Location: London

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by rainyday1 »

I just tried to call but couldn't get a person on the phone. Has anyone had success calling?
Moneybags1
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:09 am
Location: Citrus Co Florida

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by Moneybags1 »

Same here 6:30 EST
Bob
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:15 pm

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by Bob »

Similar. Will not log in at 6:36 AM ET
Da5id
Posts: 2226
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:20 am

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by Da5id »

Me too, 6:41 EST...
Loandapper
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 11:49 am

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by Loandapper »

Maybe they got overloaded with everyone trying to login this morning to check their quarterly total stock/total international dividends.
User avatar
oldcomputerguy
Moderator
Posts: 9440
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:50 am
Location: In the middle of five acres of woods in East Tennessee

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by oldcomputerguy »

Traceroute to personal.vanguard.com drops into the Twilight Zone somewhere after "unknown.prolexic.com".
"I’ve come around to this: If you’re dumb, surround yourself with smart people; and if you’re smart, surround yourself with smart people who disagree with you." (Aaron Sorkin)
charleshugh
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:09 am

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by charleshugh »

Can't get on the site as of 6:43...but I received a text message with a security code.
User avatar
oldcomputerguy
Moderator
Posts: 9440
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:50 am
Location: In the middle of five acres of woods in East Tennessee

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by oldcomputerguy »

Personally, having been in this situation in my workplace, I'd just as soon they concentrate on fixing the problem rather than answering the phone. (It would be nice, though for someone to put something on the landing page indicating an outage.)
"I’ve come around to this: If you’re dumb, surround yourself with smart people; and if you’re smart, surround yourself with smart people who disagree with you." (Aaron Sorkin)
User avatar
KSOC
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: Central Pennsylvania

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by KSOC »

charleshugh wrote:Can't get on the site as of 6:43...but I received a text message with a security code.
Same.
I'm just sitting here watching the wheels go round and round. | Nobody told me there'd be days like these.
User avatar
TF Hutch
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:57 am
Location: Florida

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by TF Hutch »

Still out.
A continuation of poor customer service perhaps.
Vanguard appears to have growing pains
Hutch | A fool and his funds are soon parted! - Thomas Tusser (English Farmer and Writer. 1524-1580)
Da5id
Posts: 2226
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:20 am

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by Da5id »

Seems up now. At least partially. I can log in, but my "Recent Activity" tab is empty.
Drewman
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:38 pm

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by Drewman »

I was able to get in. It took about a minute of loading and I continued onto other website with different tabs.

Balances and overview appeared complete.

Log-off took about 20 seconds.

Seems like some down servers?
Bob
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:15 pm

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by Bob »

6:55 AM ET - could log in now but cannot use the 'download data' functionality yet.
User avatar
obafgkm
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 9:12 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by obafgkm »

Da5id wrote:Me too, 6:41 EST...
Just a note -- in the United States, Eastern Time (ET) is at this writing in Eastern Daylight Time, so the abbreviation is properly EDT.

It is now 6:58 a.m. EDT.
User avatar
TF Hutch
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:57 am
Location: Florida

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by TF Hutch »

Got in, then locked up, finaly kicked out.
Hutch | A fool and his funds are soon parted! - Thomas Tusser (English Farmer and Writer. 1524-1580)
aristotelian
Posts: 8215
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:05 pm

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by aristotelian »

Just great, right after I moved my life savings there...
User avatar
jhfenton
Posts: 4665
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:17 am
Location: Ohio

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by jhfenton »

I was finally able to log on. It was slow, but it finally loaded.
User avatar
oldcomputerguy
Moderator
Posts: 9440
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:50 am
Location: In the middle of five acres of woods in East Tennessee

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by oldcomputerguy »

Back up at 7:50 AM, looks back to normal.
"I’ve come around to this: If you’re dumb, surround yourself with smart people; and if you’re smart, surround yourself with smart people who disagree with you." (Aaron Sorkin)
Bob
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:15 pm

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by Bob »

8:05 AM EDT - slow to log in and "download of data" function still not working. Bummer! Anyone know where Vanguard might post about their website status?
User avatar
prudent
Moderator
Posts: 7686
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:50 pm

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by prudent »

Merged a duplicate thread into this one.
User avatar
jhfenton
Posts: 4665
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:17 am
Location: Ohio

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by jhfenton »

I can log in just fine, and the balances and holdings are correct, including last night's dividend reinvestments. But the account history is still down, with an error message in its place: "Data are temporarily unavailable. Please try again later."
gkaplan
Posts: 7034
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:34 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by gkaplan »

I logged in without difficulty about thirty minutes ago.
Gordon
*3!4!/5!
Posts: 1256
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:47 pm

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by *3!4!/5! »

Oh no, the sky was falling while I was sound asleep, and I missed the whole thing! :oops:
2015
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 2:32 pm

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by 2015 »

These two sites can help if you're ever wondering if it's just you:

http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/bogleheads.org.html

http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/
Wind_Reaver
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:15 pm

Re: can't logon to vanguard account

Post by Wind_Reaver »

SpringMan wrote:Strange behavior this morning on Vanguard.
Messaging function on the website may be down as well. Newly submitted messages should appear under the Sent menu. Currently not visible, or not processing.
Mudpuppy
Posts: 6450
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:26 am
Location: Sunny California

Re: Vanguard's website is down (for me anyway)

Post by Mudpuppy »

SpringMan wrote:By the way, the time stamp on the main Bogleheads board is off by 1 hour, not on daylight saving time. When post is opened the time stamp inside is correct.
You have to set your time zone in the User Control Panel for daylight savings time to take effect. There was a change to the forum software a few years ago that necessitated resetting your time zone for DST to work automatically. So just go into your board preferences page and set your time zone again.
doyled
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:18 am

Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by doyled »

[Thread merged into here, see below. --admin LadyGeek]

I haven been trying to log on this morning in the Kansas City area and get a 404 error once I enter my username/password.

Thanks
wisevermilion
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by wisevermilion »

It is working for me.
User avatar
heartwood
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 1:40 pm

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by heartwood »

wisevermilion wrote:It is working for me.
works for me too

If in doubt you can check http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/
User avatar
ResearchMed
Posts: 10763
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:25 pm

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by ResearchMed »

doyled wrote:I haven been trying to log on this morning in the Kansas City area and get a 404 error once I enter my username/password.

Thanks
Yeah, something is wrong.

First try just now, got a weird never before seen message:

This personal.vanguard.com page can’t be found

No webpage was found for the web address: https://personal.vanguard.com/my-accoun ... -overview/
HTTP ERROR 404


Never saw that specific wording before.
And the "404" message was tiny.

Still getting that same message after entering ID and password.

RM

EDIT TO ADD: Tried again using Chrome Incognito, and got in fine.
But still cannot get in using regular Chrome browser.
Odd.
This signature is a placebo. You are in the control group.
jadedfalcons
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 8:55 pm

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by jadedfalcons »

doyled wrote:I haven been trying to log on this morning in the Kansas City area and get a 404 error once I enter my username/password.

Thanks
We're neighbours, and it isn't loading for me either.
Conch55
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:03 am

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by Conch55 »

I experienced the same thing this morning but it only affected the Accounts Overview page, https://personal.vanguard.com/my-accoun ... -overview/.

If you enter another URL directly it works. For example: https://personal.vanguard.com/us/myacco ... esholdings
User avatar
ResearchMed
Posts: 10763
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:25 pm

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by ResearchMed »

Conch55 wrote:I experienced the same thing this morning but it only affected the Accounts Overview page, https://personal.vanguard.com/my-accoun ... -overview/.

If you enter another URL directly it works. For example: https://personal.vanguard.com/us/myacco ... esholdings
Interesting.

Yup, that worked!

Thanks.

Any ideas why that first "overview" page would work in Chrome Incognito, but not regular Chrome?

RM
This signature is a placebo. You are in the control group.
bayview
Posts: 2273
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: WNC

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by bayview »

Mac and Firefox here (outdated, because I'm still using an older OS):

The login takes me to the accounts page, and that doesn't display. No error message, just a white screen.

But the Balances and Holdings page works, at least for me. I got there through my browser history, but try this:

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/myacco ... esholdings

edit to add: I just realized that Conch posted that link. :beer

It does seem to be the "my-accounts" part that's currently a dud.
The continuous execution of a sound strategy gives you the benefit of the strategy. That's what it's all about. --Rick Ferri
User avatar
Dale_G
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:43 pm
Location: Central Florida - on the grown up side of 83

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by Dale_G »

Yeah - weird. I got the 404 error with Chrome, but Microsoft Edge worked. I expect Vanguard has some IT guys working on the weekend and they will fix it.

Dale
Volatility is my friend
Conch55
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:03 am

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by Conch55 »

Any ideas why that first "overview" page would work in Chrome Incognito, but not regular Chrome?
I just tested Incognito mode and confirmed it works. No idea why. My version of Chrome was recently updated (59.0.3071.109) so perhaps Google either "enhanced" security or introduced a bug. I tested Firefox v54 and IE 11 and both work as expected.
User avatar
allwin
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:36 am

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by allwin »

I had the same issue. Clearing cookies fixed it for me.

Either you can clear all your cookies, or delete cookies for the Vanguard website. Here's how to delete Vanguard website cookies in Chrome:
1. Goto settings
2. Search for "cookies" on upper right side (in the "Search settings" box)
3. Click on "Content settings..."
4. Click on "All cookies and site data..." under "Cookies"
5. Search for "Vanguard" in the search box (in the "Search cookies" box)
6. Click "Remove all shown"

The main page should work after that. I didn't really dig into why it was broken, but this fixed it for me.
User avatar
Dale_G
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:43 pm
Location: Central Florida - on the grown up side of 83

Re: Is Vanguard Website Down

Post by Dale_G »

allwin wrote:Clearing cookies fixed it for me.
It also worked for me - thanks for posting the instructions.

Dale
Volatility is my friend
User avatar
LadyGeek
Site Admin
Posts: 67130
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: can't logon to vanguard account [Website Down]

Post by LadyGeek »

FYI - I merged doyled's thread into here. The combined thread is in the Personal Consumer Issues forum (website).
Wiki To some, the glass is half full. To others, the glass is half empty. To an engineer, it's twice the size it needs to be.
Post Reply