Google wifi is awesome

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
fogalog
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 11:31 am

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby fogalog » Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:03 pm

+1 for eero.

I bought a 3-pack a few months back and have never looked back. I have mine configured with wired backhaul and in bridge mode. It took literally minutes to get it going. Very smooth.

I had previously been using (Apple) APs with the same network name & password and while that worked, roaming with a smartphone was hit-and-miss; sometimes they would re-connect and sometimes they wouldn't. Of course mesh technology is designed to solve this precise problem (as well as a few others).

What I particularly like about eero is their support and community. It really is top-notch.

YMMV

Gronnie
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:08 pm

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby Gronnie » Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:46 am

Five Scoop wrote:I went with the Eero over Google Wifi because Eero has the ability to be hardwired to existing ethernet ports.


So does Google Wifi. In fact, it's how I have mine set up.

cookiez
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 12:24 am

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby cookiez » Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:24 am

I bought a tp-link re200 for $30 from amazon and never had any problems. Took me 10 minutes to set it up (including figure out how to turn off the led light when it's on.)

Angelus359
Posts: 604
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:56 am

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby Angelus359 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:35 am

sandramjet wrote:
lightheir wrote:I know this is as brazen a product plug as it gets, but I think it's warranted.

Another benefit - it was stupidly simple to set up. You literally plug it in, download an app on the phone, and turn it on.


and thats the deal killer for me... we don't own any smartphones, and you can't set it up without it.


It's rare to find a dumbphone in a store these days. You can get 30$ retail smartphones. Given that, there is no sensible reason for it to be a reason for a product developer to assume you don't have one
IT Coordinator for public sector

mac_guy
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:37 pm

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby mac_guy » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:34 am

fogalog wrote:+1 for eero.

I bought a 3-pack a few months back and have never looked back. I have mine configured with wired backhaul and in bridge mode. It took literally minutes to get it going. Very smooth.

I had previously been using (Apple) APs with the same network name & password and while that worked, roaming with a smartphone was hit-and-miss; sometimes they would re-connect and sometimes they wouldn't. Of course mesh technology is designed to solve this precise problem (as well as a few others).

What I particularly like about eero is their support and community. It really is top-notch.

YMMV


It is interesting that eero allows mesh networking in bridge mode. It seems that Google WiFi does NOT allow is:

Does Google Wifi support Bridge mode?
Yeah, but it will only work if you’re using a single Google Wifi point or OnHub. If you’re creating a mesh network with multiple Wifi points, your Primary Wifi point cannot be in Bridge mode. This is because the Primary Wifi point needs to do special things to control settings and communication within your Wi-Fi network. If it’s in bridge mode, you’ll lose some of Google Wifi’s key features.


https://support.google.com/wifi/answer/6240987?hl=en

This is a bit of problem for me, because I need wireless routers that work in bridge mode. I have FIOS Quantum TV and from what I've read, you need to use Verizon's supplied router and not put that router in bridge mode to get all the advanced FIOS TV features to work. I currently have a Google Onhub that I run in bridge mode. I was thinking about buying a Google WiFi and setting up a mesh network with my OnHub. But, if I do that, I will have to turn off bridge mode on the OnHub. This will create a double NAT situation, which will introduce other problems into my network.

Has anyone else dealt with this problem?

misterno
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:55 am

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby misterno » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:07 pm

Can someone please help me?

My internet service provider which I hate with all my heart, does not let us use any other router than theirs. So I can not use google wifi as a router.

But what I am wondering is can I use the 2 other pieces of the 3 pack as a REPEATER?

I purchased 1 single unit from walmart came home and opened the package but I realized that 1 piece has the router only. I am guessing the 3 packs have only 1 router and 2 repeaters right?

-------------------------------------------------------------

Eventually what I want to do is use my hateful ISP's router and in addition 1 (only 1) google wifi device to extend (repeat) the signal to my second floor which is not receiving the signal well.

is this possible?

LAguy818
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:57 am

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby LAguy818 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:34 pm

misterno wrote:Can someone please help me?

My internet service provider which I hate with all my heart, does not let us use any other router than theirs. So I can not use google wifi as a router.

But what I am wondering is can I use the 2 other pieces of the 3 pack as a REPEATER?

I purchased 1 single unit from walmart came home and opened the package but I realized that 1 piece has the router only. I am guessing the 3 packs have only 1 router and 2 repeaters right?

-------------------------------------------------------------

Eventually what I want to do is use my hateful ISP's router and in addition 1 (only 1) google wifi device to extend (repeat) the signal to my second floor which is not receiving the signal well.

is this possible?


You can turn off the WiFi portion of the ISP router and use whatever router you want by connecting the WAN/Internet port of the new router to a LAN port on the ISP router.

User avatar
Fiat lux
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby Fiat lux » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:10 pm

LAguy818 wrote:
misterno wrote:Can someone please help me?

My internet service provider which I hate with all my heart, does not let us use any other router than theirs. So I can not use google wifi as a router.

But what I am wondering is can I use the 2 other pieces of the 3 pack as a REPEATER?

I purchased 1 single unit from walmart came home and opened the package but I realized that 1 piece has the router only. I am guessing the 3 packs have only 1 router and 2 repeaters right?

-------------------------------------------------------------

Eventually what I want to do is use my hateful ISP's router and in addition 1 (only 1) google wifi device to extend (repeat) the signal to my second floor which is not receiving the signal well.

is this possible?



You can turn off the WiFi portion of the ISP router and use whatever router you want by connecting the WAN/Internet port of the new router to a LAN port on the ISP router.


I also have google wifi and it is working well! I have it plugged into my frontier router (a MoCA LAN bridge) which I have to use for services to work with my tv. I do not have the frontier router in bridge mode, instead I have google wifi plugged into the router and it is in essence just piggybacking off the router. I do not see a need to bridge the frontier router, although i see the wireless networks that come with it we just dont use them. Latency does not seem to be affected.

User avatar
Clever_Username
Posts: 675
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:24 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Google wifi is awesome

Postby Clever_Username » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:42 pm

unclescrooge wrote:
lightheir wrote:I know this is as brazen a product plug as it gets, but I think it's warranted.


Thanks for sharing. I will be purchasing this in about 8 weeks when I move into the new home.

Do you know how well it works across two floors?



Also thank you for sharing. I had heard of this, but hadn't looked into it carefully, and now I'm planning to get this for my upcoming home. Many that I'm looking at, including the one I'll be making an offer for, are two floors. Did this ever get answered -- does it work for multiple floors? I'm okay with buying the three pack and covering the downstairs with two and upstairs (which is about half the size of downstairs) with the third.
"What was true then is true now. Have a plan. Stick to it." -- XXXX, [i]Layer Cake[/i]


Return to “Personal Consumer Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KSOC, robertbm and 32 guests