help with my printer problem

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
pablolo

help with my printer problem

Post by pablolo » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:36 am

I have a 15 year old hp 300 desk series printerthat is not printing. I ran the diagnostics and it saidusb composite device is an older usb device and might not work with usb3.0 I am not very tech savvy. should I buy a 3.0 usb cable or just buy a new hp printer for $59 at best buy.? I seldom use it . any suggestions? thank you.

munemaker

Re: help with my printer problem

Post by munemaker » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:37 am

pablolo wrote:I have a 15 year old hp 300 desk series printerthat is not printing. I ran the diagnostics and it saidusb composite device is an older usb device and might not work with usb3.0 I am not very tech savvy. should I buy a 3.0 usb cable or just buy a new hp printer for $59 at best buy.? I seldom use it . any suggestions? thank you.

Does your computer have a USB 2.0 port? If so, try that.

Ged

Post by Ged » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:40 am

I would check the HP site to see if they have updated drivers for your printer.

dm200

Post by dm200 » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:41 am

pablolo wrote:I have a 15 year old hp 300 desk series printerthat is not printing. I ran the diagnostics and it saidusb composite device is an older usb device and might not work with usb3.0 I am not very tech savvy. should I buy a 3.0 usb cable or just buy a new hp printer for $59 at best buy.? I seldom use it . any suggestions? thank you.

Keep looking and trying things.